0 items / $0.00

[For U.S.] Cromwell 'At The Gallop' (GKL008/GKL008CD) ALL EDITIONS


Image of [For U.S.] Cromwell 'At The Gallop' (GKL008/GKL008CD) ALL EDITIONS
  • Image of [For U.S.] Cromwell 'At The Gallop' (GKL008/GKL008CD) ALL EDITIONS

***ORDERS NOW SHIPPING for the SPANISH IMPORT LP & CD Editions of Cromwell's At The Gallop—choose STANDARD or BONUS Editions (which include free custom buttons & prints, just make your selection) below, Limited to 66 Packs.

This pre-order is for continental U.S. customers (see additional links for Canadian and international shipping), all orders shipped from IL.

Purchase options appear in pull-down box which follows the 'BY CROMWELL' link. Clicking the 'Add to Cart' option purchases the BONUS CD Edition.

Some item prices are raised or lowered to account for shipping being post-paid and flat-rate (which explains why some prices may appear excessively high). Any excesses of actual shipping more than $2 will be refunded to buyers.***

Initially self-released in 1975 by the Drumcondra, Dublin-based Cromwell, At The Gallop is a blistering, heavy, loud’n’lascivious ten track offering (thirteen in this expanded edition) of proto-metal infused street rock’n’roll from a time when Ireland was still under the sway of beloved traditional Irish music, conservative showbands and quasi-religious, sentimental pop pap. Despite their cultural struggles, Cromwell crafted a creative and compact catalog—five fuzzed’n’ferocious 45s and this footlong—led by co-vocalist/bassist Michael Kiely’s come hither coo and fey Jagger pose’n’preen, the in-the-pocket drumming of Derek Dawson and minor-guitar hero moves of Patrick Brady, exercising taste, talent and towering mountains of fuzz’n’fury as comfortably as greasy ‘70s raunch and rural modes. At The Gallop is a rare—fetching upwards of 400€ when the original LP does appear—little-heard classic in the pub/fried rock’n’roll/proto-punk terrain.

RIYL: Teenage Head/Flamingo-era Flamin’ Groovies, Mott The Hoople, ‘70s Stones, pre-punk American street rock and the Bonehead Crunchers series.

• First time reissue, including bonus tracks from the group’s rare singles.
• Insert featuring rare photos and in-depth liner notes by Jeremy Cargill (Got Kinda Lost Records / Ugly Things Magazine).

“Emerging from the giant shadow cast by the greatness of Thin Lizzy, this obscure band with a venomous guitar attack, and dual vocalists that kick ass and take names, puts the ‘ire’ in Ireland and delivers with a sound that’s not for the squeamish.”—Rich Haupt (Rockadelic Records / The Acid Archives)


A01 Ireland (The Wild One) (3:28)
A02 Down On The Town (3:32)
A03 First Day (3:25)
A04 You Got It Made (3:39)
A05 At The Gallop (2:24)
A06 Stomp Stomp Stomp* (2:50)
A07 You Hate It To Turn (3:40)

B01 Guinness Rock (4:14)
B02 Hoodwinked (Instrumental) (2:24)
B03 Nothing Left To See (4:10)
B04 Deal Me In (2:47)
B05 Dawson's Fun Palace (3:27)
B06 Guinness Rock (45 Version)* (3:47)